‘Twas the Season…for Commissions!

The holiday season came and went in a whirlwind. I stayed busy throughout November and December filling orders. Around Christmas my commissions consist mostly of ornaments and soft sculptures. Here’s a recap of a few of my favorite things that I completed over the holidays.

These three soft sculptures were completed a couple of weeks before Thanksgiving and were a fun challenge. Each one was an original design that I drew up from scratch…no tweaking of previously designed patterns. The red fox and hedgehog are almost life sized, while the little arctic fox fits in the palm of your hand. The red fox is fully jointed and made from German mohair with a mohair/silk blend tail, the hedgehog is alpaca and German mohair, and the arctic fox is made from alpaca with a tail made of unique synthetic fabric.

I also received several commissions for ornaments, particularly chinchillas.

In the week before Christmas I had some time to create an ornament for each of my coworkers:

And last but not least, I squeezed in a sloth. He wasn’t a commission or a gift, I just really wanted to make a sloth.

slothornament

 

I hope everyone’s holiday season was merry and bright, and I hope the New Year is off to a good start for all. Best wishes for an amazing 2016!

2 thoughts on “‘Twas the Season…for Commissions!

Leave a Reply

